Wednesday, August 1, 2007

Baseball in D.C.

I had some extra time on my hands this evening and I decided to take in a Washington Nationals vs. Cincinnati Reds games. Hey, baseball is a bit of a passion for me and what else are history conferences for?? Anyway, I noticed a few things about America's Pastime in the nation's capital that I feel are worth mentioning.

1. How the hell can anyone live in this humidity?? Hey, I'm from 2 hours north of this hell-hole and have no idea how I ever lived with this much humidty. At game time (7:05) the humidty was a soupy 84%. That's just disgusting if you ask me. I was literally sitting still and sweating. Everybody in this towns looks greasy because all they do is sweat when they're outside. It's strange how I adapted to living in the west--those of you who think Hays is humid, or even Austin (Dave) should spend a year here one afternoon. ICK!

2. I would watch blind mice play baseball!! OK, I always thought I was a baseball fan, but I'm not, I'm a freak. I literally sat and watched two of the worst teams in the MLB pretend to play baseball tonight. My reasoning: how's this for crazy--Bronson Arroyo pitches for the Reds, he used to pitch for the Red Sox and so I should go see him if I have a chance. Second, Ken Griffey Jr. (future hall of fame shoe-in) plays for the Reds--had to go! Like a said, FREAK!

Now for some observations about baseball in D.C.

1. These dudes play in the Grand Canyon! RFK isn't a stadium, it's an affront to all things holy. Never have a seen a bigger piece of shit. Thank god they're destroying the thing next year and building a new park. It's huge and there are so many obstructed views (I was behind the right field foul pole) that I don't really think there's a good seat in the house.

2. I've been to a lot of parks and never in my life did I see more Dockers and blue Oxford shirts! Is this really the wardrobe of the DC baseball fan. In front of me tonight, much to my pleasure, were four government employees who acted more like frat boys and one lone girl who just kept looking at her companions with the saddest brown eyes I've seen this side of Bambi. This is the future of our nation and baseball! I may actually be more concerned about the latter as the former is already circling the drain of the cosmic shitter!

3. Suit should never be worn to a baseball game! On the lower level of the staduim--where tickets cost a whopping $45, mine was $5 by the way--sat some "important" government types--Congressmen ready for summer break, etc in their suits. If khakis and button-ups are bad, 3 piece suits are awful (see point 1 in the first section).

4. The fans here are very politie. It may be that the Nats suck, it may be that it's more about being seen at the game than really seeing the game, or it could be that the people here are just overly nice. hell, I went to games in Philly growing up, I may be biased. But, these people gave a standing ovation to Ken Griffey Jr. and actually didn't heckle Arroyo when he gave up 4 damn runs in the first inning. Isn't this city supposed to be the birth place of the ugly American? Or is it solely the guy who occupies 1600 Pennsylvania Ave? Either way, as baseball fans go, these folks in DC are pretty damn nice.

Well, that's it from here. Baseball in the national capital is unlike baseball anywhere else I've ever been. Some time tomorrow I have to get over to the new National Museum of the American Indian. If I do, you will know.

No comments: